Date: Saturday 30th April 2005

PENRITH are looking to win their third county cup today when they take on Whitehaven side St. Benedict’s at Aspatria (3pm).

Their last win was in 2000, and was long overdue, the only other success coming in 1960!

Five members of the current squad played in the winning 2000 team, captain James Lund, who was also captain then, Tim Shepherd, Glen Murray, Paul Lowes and Kevin Walker.

St. Benedict’s finished the season fifth in the North Lancs/Cumbria League a level below North 2 West, in which Penrith play.

Penrith have had an excellent season, finishing in their highest ever league position third in North 2 West although they were disappointed to miss out on promotion.

The club’s rugby development manager and coach, Nigel Beaty, who was also in charge for the cup win in 2000, said: “The Penrith team is predominantly made up of players who have played youth and school rugby at the club, with the exception of two overseas players. The club is grateful for the loyalty of the players, who have resisted the financial temptation to move to other clubs.”

Today’s game will see skipper Lund looking to make history by becoming the only Penrith captain to lead the team to two cup wins. He made his debut as an 18-year-old and has played for the club since then, apart from a season at Wigton and a season in the national leagues with Kendal.

Centre Gavin Young is the leading points and try scorer (with 18) in North 2 West this season. Last year’s captain, he has played most of his rugby at Penrith apart from two seasons in Berkshire, where he was working.

He has struck up an excellent partnership with James Stainton, who played union for the Penrith youth teams, progressing to Northampton Saints’ academy as a back row player, and then trying rugby league, including a spell with professional club Barrow.

The squad for the cup final is: Stephane Helies, Coenraad Jansen, Gavin Young, James Stainton, Paul Hetherington, Stuart Wilson, Nick Woof, Keith Robinson, Kevin Walker, Glen Murray, Paul Lowes, Robert Dawson, Bob Wilson, Mark Taylor, James Lund (capt.). Replacements: Guy Simpson, Tim Shepherd, Mike Buckman.

l Penrith take on Wigton in the under-14 county cup final as a curtain-raiser to the senior game. Kick-off is 1pm.